Top Banner
Friday, May 24, 2024

Polo Roundup

by Joanna Andrews

Mohammed Al Habtoor, Habtoor Polo
HH Sheika Maitha, patron of UAE Polo
UAE Polo Team celebrate their win
Bin Drai Vs Wolves
Mahra vs Edrees by Gonzalo Etcheverry
Zedan Polo Dubai Cup Champion by Gonzalo Etcheverry
Mahra Team Subsidiary Champion by Gonzalo Etcheverry

Mohammed Al Habtoor is not only recognized for his business acumen, but he is also an avid polo player. He is responsible for the growth of Polo in Dubai. The city now competes with established polo destinations around the world to host international tournaments. Joanna Andrews wraps up an active polo season.

Bin Drai was crowned the winner of the Dubai Challenge Cup defeating Habtoor Polo 8-7. The tournament - held under the patronage of Shaikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai - was part of Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series. The team included patron Saeed Bin Drai, Tomás Iriarte, Matías Torres Zavaleta and Raúl Laplacette.

Zedan claimed the Dubai Cup 2016 in mid-April. Zedan Polo defeated Habtoor Polo in a close match 8 goals to 7 at the new Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club. Mahra polo meanwhile claimed the Subsidiary Cup after beating F4Z by 7.5 goals to 3.

UAE Polo Team emerged champions at the Julius Baer Gold Cup 2016 after defeating Mahra 10-7 in the final. The Dubai Gold Cup Series, an 18- goal tournament is one of the highest handicap tournaments in the region. The event ran from March 18 to April 1, 2016. The patron of UAE Polo Team is Shaikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

The Julius Baer Team by Habtoor Polo claimed the Bentley Cup after defeating Abu Dhabi Polo 8-7 in the final. The Bentley Cup is part of the Dubai Gold Cup Series, founded by Mohammed Al Habtoor in 2009. Today, it is one of the highest handicap tournaments in the Middle East and the fourth largest of its kind after Argentina, the US and the UK.

Meanwhile, Mahra became the first champion of the Polo Masters Cup after beating Edrees 7-3 in the final at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort & Club. The team was made up of patron Rashid Al Habtoor, Daniel Gariador, Pelayo Berazadi and Alejandro Novillo Astrada. Daniel Gariador was named MVP, while mare Gondola was announced as best playing pony.

Please keep your comments relevant to this website entry. Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Please note that gratuitous links to your site are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments.
More Articles by